Standard Sets


The ICHOM Standard Set for Dementia is the result of hard work by a group of leading physicians, measurement experts and patients. It is our recommendation of the outcomes that matter most to persons with Dementia. We urge all providers around the world to start measuring these outcomes to better understand how to improve the lives of their patients.

  1. Includes anxiety, depression, behavior, apathy, and psychosis. Tracked via the Neuropsychiatric Inventory (NPI).
  2. Includes memory, orientation, verbal fluency, and executive function. Tracked via the Montreal Cognitive Assessment (MoCA).
  3. Includes community affairs and relationships.
  4. Includes instrumental and basic activities of daily living. Tracked via the Bristol Activity Daily Living Scale (BADLS).
  5. Includes finance, enjoyment of activities, pain, and side effects of medication. Tracked via the Quality of Life-AD (QOL-AD) and Quality of Wellbeing Scale-Self Administered (QWB-SA).
  6. Tracked via the EuroQol-5D (EQ-5D).
  7. Tracked via the Clinical Dementia Rating (CDR).

Team that developed this standard

Resource Documents

Dementia Reference Guide
Dementia Data Dictionary
Dementia – Defining a Standard Set of Patient-Centered Outcomes for Patients with Dementia
Dementia Flyer

©2021 ICHOM


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?